Inner and outer products in Clifford Algebra...

Higher-dimensional geometry (previously "Polyshapes").

Inner and outer products in Clifford Algebra...

Postby Paul » Wed Nov 10, 2004 2:55 pm

Hello all,

Perhaps you can field this question, Pat... one of the reasons I'm asking it here, rather than the Math Message Board, is because no one on the Math Message Board seems much interested, nor knowledgable, about Clifford, or Geometric Algebra.

I have a couple of David Hestenes books... "New Foundations...", and "Clifford Algebra to...", and a few other books about Clifford Algebra... and I've also seen sources on the Internet.

Perhaps it's a matter of understanding my background better. I have a BS in Computer Science. I wasn't a Math major, although many said I should have been. So, much of my mathematical education is self-taught,... and, for instance, I might know something traditionally taught in grad school, but not know something that every undergrad math major would know...

Basically, I'm hoping someone can show me how to form inner and outer products for arbitrary multi-vectors. Unfortunately, I don't seem to be able to take even David Hestenes explanations and apply them. I guess I need someone to show me specific examples with aribitrary multi-vectors.

Also... I know that some of the rules... like concerning commutivity (I believe?) with the wedge product... with bivectors have specifically spelt out rules... but, what happens if one's computing with trivectors? In other words, generalization,... in some easy to understand manner... is what I need.

If someone could show me how to do all the calculations... by hand. That's what I'm looking for. Specifically, by hand... such that I can apply it to arbitrary inner and outer products of multi-vectors.