how is 3d perceived from 4d?

Ideas about how a world with more than three spatial dimensions would work - what laws of physics would be needed, how things would be built, how people would do things and so on.

how is 3d perceived from 4d?

Postby sondizzle » Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:11 pm

ok, this is my first post here, and i am pretty new to this and trying to become smarter, so forgive me if this has been asked already.

in our 3d universe, 2d only exists as an idea. one cannot draw a true 2d line because there is always 3d medium i.e. paper. one can only imagine a 1d point. kind of like plato's world of the forms, the perfect triangle can only exist as an idea.

so in a 4d 'universe', could 3d even be possible, or would 3d exist in idea form only?

does this make sense?
sondizzle
Mononian

Postby papernuke » Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:56 am

probably not, and it dosent make sense to me :\
"Civilization is a race between education and catastrophe."
-H.G. Wells
papernuke
Tetronian

Postby PWrong » Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:53 am

so in a 4d 'universe', could 3d even be possible, or would 3d exist in idea form only?

Pretty much. But an idea is all you really need. Drawings on paper are an approximation to a platonic form, as you said, but it's a very good approximation. And when we define a line in terms of maths, it becomes perfect.
PWrong
Pentonian

Postby Nick » Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:41 pm

Well, seeing as how we know for a fact that there is 3 dimensional life, I don't see how this question is relevant. ;)
I am the Nick formerly known as irockyou.
postcount++;
"All evidence of truth comes only from the senses" - Friedrich Nietzsche

Nick
Tetronian

Postby Hugh » Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:18 pm

4d beings would see in 3d, and those 3 axes would be orthogonal to each other.
Hugh
Tetronian

Postby sondizzle » Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:21 pm

ok, thanks. can i ask another question?