renaissance:perspective // now:4d

Ideas about how a world with more than three spatial dimensions would work - what laws of physics would be needed, how things would be built, how people would do things and so on.

renaissance:perspective // now:4d

Postby thigle » Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:43 pm

as an artist, i am deeply interested in interpretations & specifically forms of visual representations. one of non-final climaxes in history of representation was the flip in consciousness in renaissance. the meanings of 'subject' & 'object' flipped. how come ? etymologicaly(=really) sub.jicere comes from 'to throw under' while ob.jicere from 'to throw forth/in front of'. the position of pre-renaissance consciousness was one of being not yet in.dividual in sense we understand it today. human sentient beings were feeling themselves being the objects of the world, which was the subject, i.e. the world was not object for them yet, at least not in the form it is for us today. they were 'thrown under'.
now with the renaissance invention of representing the projection-mechanisms, among which was the 'classical' perspectival system (usually flat, which later substituted the general pattern of spatial experience of embodied space, and was identified/superimposed with the 'real space', which seems to hold for many even until today), the very act of seeing became seen, represented. the reflection mechanism became reflected. the world became an object. the individual focus took over.

in one post, wendy states the same connection as the name of this thread. any suggestions ? here is a controversial one, in praise of imagination.(from deoxy.org)
The Geometric Model_Terence McKenna, Imagination In The Light Of Nature)