The loss of Visual Information in a Higher Dimension

Ideas about how a world with more than three spatial dimensions would work - what laws of physics would be needed, how things would be built, how people would do things and so on.

The loss of Visual Information in a Higher Dimension

Postby Heras » Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:28 am

I'm quite new to this 4D thingy, so what I say may be very cliché. I didn't find anything on this subject on the forum though.

I visualize the 2D and 3D world as follows:

2D: The World of Pac-Man
3D: Me playing Pac-Man

To Pac-Man, in his world, things overlap. Ghost overlap with pills, walls and anything else. From a 3D point of view (me playing the game) nothing overlaps with anything else.

To see wether an an object is transparant, It must overlap with another object. Let's say the pills are transparant to Pac-Man. Pac-Man sees this because he can see a ghost right through a pill. To us, however, this is not visible, because ghosts and pills never overlap!

So, it seems to me that, if we look at a 2D world, our view actually does lose some information! We cannot tell whether an 2D object is transparant or not.

In this same way, from a 4D point of view, it would be impossible to tell whether or not water, and even air, is transparant. (We could, of course, find out by investigating the material an object is made of, but we can't see it)

At least, I find the thought highly amusing.

~ Heras
Heras
Nullonian

Postby RQ » Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:47 am

I don't really see the analogy, because in a 2D universes, assuming it has the same laws and properties as our but with respect to only two extended spatial dimensions and time, then it would be a miracle by God if this "overlapping" occurred, because they would just be stuck unless they pushed it out of the way. The reason this happens from our point of view is the illusion of computers via electrons which isn't a miracle at all unless you want to call the universe a miracle itself.