Stereogram projections

Ideas about how a world with more than three spatial dimensions would work - what laws of physics would be needed, how things would be built, how people would do things and so on.

Stereogram projections

Postby quickfur » Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:54 pm

Ovo suggested that I use stereograms for showing my polytope projections, so I decided to do a little test:

This is a cross-eyed stereo pair image of the projection of the 120-cell into 3D, centered on a dodecahedron. I'm new to this, so I don't know if I chose the right the eye separation or the best image sizes, etc.. Suggestions are welcome. :)

I purposely left out edges and vertices, because they tend to clutter the image, and besides, I wanted to see how effective stereo pairs are at conveying the shapes of the cells just by pure stereopsis alone. I find that it's pretty good (even with me being a beginner at cross-eyed viewing). You should be able to see two layers of cells in front of the yellow cell quite clearly. The far side of the projection is much harder to see, though (I can't see it clearly at all), probably 'cos of the clutter of all the stuff in front. It's the disadvantage of our "crippled" 3D viewpoint that can only see the projection from the side. :\

If you're new to cross-eyed stereo viewing (as I am), try this tutorial. (Note: do not stare at the image for too long at a time; I found that my eyes tire out very quickly when I do cross-eyed viewing. If you feel discomfort please stop immediately and rest your eyes. I don't want to be held responsible for eye injuries!)

What do you guys think of this?
quickfur
Pentonian

Re: Stereogram projections

Postby Ovo » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:59 pm

The size is perfect for me but if it tires your eyes out fast you should probably reduce it a bit.
The impression of depth is rather faint, you can increase the distance between the two POV by a half at least, maybe double it.