Why all the different spaces and seperations?

Ideas about how a world with more than three spatial dimensions would work - what laws of physics would be needed, how things would be built, how people would do things and so on.

Why all the different spaces and seperations?

Postby itzclay » Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:35 pm

Hi, 1st post. I'm kinda new to the 4th dimension directly, as in hearing other peoples thoughts about it. But there are a few things which honestly don't make sense to me.

For example, I keep seeing that people "exist" only on certain planes of existance. 2d beings, 3d beings, 4d beings. This makes 0 sense to me.

Why can I not be a 4d being? I think we are all 4D beings. It's only our perception that is in 3d.

I see people talking about parallel 2D planes. If you stack 2 2D planes, do you not get 3D? Much like the different lanes on a race track. When it is 1 lane, you can only move forward and backwards. When you stack new 2D planes, then you have more lanes, and the car can now change lanes, or 2D planes of existance. Seems to me parallel 2D planes are just 3D.

And who is to say that the 4D plane of existance only exists with shapes on the outside?

When I think of a 4D object, the first thing that comes to mind is a magnet. Which we all know happens due to alignments of electrons inside it. Whats to say that most 4D objects don't exist inside the 3D object, and that electrons being aligned, doesn't move the 4D part of the object outside?

If you take 2 magnets, and align the poles of them opposite. You can move the 2nd object without the 1st object touching it. Seems to me when the 2nd object starts moving, it could be where the 2 4D objects that we don't see are touching, and those you are moving the 2nd object 4dimensionally, although we still only see 2 3d objects which never appear to touch.