Ordering of kD facets of nD polytope...?

Discussion of tapertopes, uniform polytopes, and other shapes with flat hypercells.

Ordering of kD facets of nD polytope...?

Postby Paul » Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:45 pm

Hello all,

This is my first post on this message board. I'm an amateur mathematician.

Relating to face lattices of polytopes, with which Jonathan (PolyHedron Dude) has been helping me, I'm wondering about what various ways exist to order the kD facets of an nD polytope?

Do people usually just order the facets of the same dimension in some form of lexicographic order? If so, do any of these have any 'natural' geometric interpretation that works in any dimension? What are the various advantages and disadvantages associated with different conventions of ordering the facets?

With the face lattices, it appears that depending on how you order the vertices, you can get a different graph. It may be essentially the same in terms of connections between nodes, but it looks different anyway.

It'd be nice to be able to set some convention on the ordering of the kD facets so that comparsions between various face lattices might be made without having to wonder whether the face lattices being compared have utilized some different facet ordering convention.

It might also be nice to know how many, perhaps essentially similar in terms of connections between nodes, representations, and perhaps how to find those representations, exist for the face lattice of a given polytope.

Thanks
Paul
Trionian

nD-hyperspheres...?

Postby Paul » Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:06 pm

Hello all,

I have a vague idea of a geometric possibility for the ordering of the kD facets of a nD (regular) polytope (n > k >= 0). For now, at least, I wish to restrict our polytope to being regular.

Perhaps... again, I'm not sure this will go anywhere helpful...