Groups

Other scientific, philosophical, mathematical etc. topics go here.

Groups

Postby Keiji » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:12 pm

So I am currently studying groups at university, and an interesting thought occurred to me:

Let Σ be an alphabet of n ≥ 2 symbols.
Let L be the (infinite) set of all strings S over Σ such that S does not contain the substring <a,a> for any a ∈ Σ. For example, "abcabc" and "abcba" would be in L, but "abcca" would not because it contains two consecutive 'c's.

Then L is a non-commutative infinite group under an operation I call "concatenation with elimination", which I shall arbitrarily denote ⊗. This operation is performed by first concatenating the two operands, then removing any pair of consecutive identical symbols until there are no more such pairs. So for example, "abc"⊗"cbd" = ad, because the working goes: "abccbd" -> "abbd" -> "ad".

The four axioms are satisfied thus:
  • Closure: If A and B are in L, then A⊗B is clearly in L because A⊗B has no such disallowed substrings by definition of ⊗.
  • Associativity: Not sure how to prove this one at the moment, but my thinking is as follows: consider (A⊗B)⊗C versus A⊗(B⊗C), then consider the removed pairs in A⊗B versus the removed pairs in B⊗C - in cases where these sets of pairs do not "overlap" then it clearly must be associative; in cases where they do overlap, taking the substring from B which forms the overlap and reversing it produces a substring of the result which replaces the cancelled symbols, so again it is associative.
  • Identity: this is the empty string Λ, clearly A⊗Λ = A = Λ⊗A
  • Inverse: this is the reversed string A-1: a copy of A with the order of symbols reversed, and by definition of ⊗ then A⊗A-1 = Λ = A-1⊗A

Has anyone else thought of this, or found any interesting properties, or perhaps a proof for associativity (I'm thinking that one would be inductive)?
Keiji
Administrator

Re: Groups

Postby wendy » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:13 am