4d Snake

Discuss interdimensional programming, Java applets and so forth.

4d Snake

Postby Pella86 » Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:36 pm

Hi everybody,

I have recently discovered this forum, it's amazing how people on here can percieve the 4th dimension!
I have seen the 4d car and it looks amazing!

I am a biologist and some while ago I wanted to learn how to program. And since I am fascinated by 4 dimensional objects, I tried to program a little game.
Snake in 4 spatial dimensions. The game is perspectively projected.

I wrote the first version in python, but was extremly laggy, so I rewrote it in C++ and OpenGL, now the game works smoothly:
here is the explanation of the game:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCCjH3Xdw4s

here is the source code (it requires the qt libraries):
http://www.mediafire.com/?x2bjhblt1114cuq

Here I unsucseffully tried to explain how to see the 4th dimension:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IUnqm8j4BE

any comments or suggestion are appreciated!
cheers Pella
Pella86
Nullonian

Re: 4d Snake

Postby quickfur » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:42 pm

Welcome to the forum!

We're so glad to have new blood here... the forum has been kinda stagnating for the past while. I'll have to check out your 4D snake game! (Finally! An opengl 4D game!)

As for visualizing 4D, here's my shameless self-plug: 4D visualization. I've to admit that I'm quite limited in my free time (or to be more precise, I have too many hobbies to divide my finite free time over), so it hasn't really be updated as often as I wish and isn't as polished as I'd like it to be, but at least it does encapsulate the fundamental method I use for dealing with 4D objects.
quickfur
Pentonian

Postby Pella86 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:36 pm

quickfur wrote:Welcome to the forum!

We're so glad to have new blood here... the forum has been kinda stagnating for the past while. I'll have to check out your 4D snake game! (Finally! An opengl 4D game!)