Getting started programming?

Discuss interdimensional programming, Java applets and so forth.

Getting started programming?

Postby Maxwellius » Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:14 am

Hi all,

All this multiple dimensions stuff has gotten me very interested! I would really like to learn to program so I could create games like 3d tetris (you have to assemble planes using blocks) or 3-d Invaders (3d creatures invade a plane). However, I have little background in programming. Where should I start? I know how to do stuff like program 'hello world', but I can't get much farther than that. Anyone know of any good languages to start, or web tutorials? Thanks!

-Maxwellius
"God created the universe, and the universe created us."
-Me
Maxwellius
Nullonian

Re: Getting started programming?

Postby MorgothV8 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:10 pm

C/C++, use GCC (GNU Compilers Collection)
Look at my post Tic-Tac-Toe in 4D, this is very simple program, entirely in text mode, It will show You some C stuff
MorgothV8
Mononian

Postby SharkRetriver » Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:10 pm

I'm using C#, should I switch to C++?
SharkRetriver
Dionian

Postby Keiji » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:58 pm

Short answer: Yes.

Long answer: I'd suggest Linux (Ubuntu seems to be the fan favorite here), GNU C/C++ (I personally prefer C, but many people prefer C++ and for good reasons), SDL with OpenGL. Currently I don't use an IDE (I use a combination of self-made utilities and pre-existing ones), but I have used Code::Blocks which isn't too bad though is far from perfect, and I've heard Eclipse is fairly good for C/C++ development. There's also KDevelop, which I haven't tried, but at one point wanted to look into, just never got around to it.
Keiji
Administrator

Postby Mrrl » Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:32 am

I've switched to C# from C++ in 2003 (after 10 or more years of C++ programming) and happy with that. So I vote for C#.
Mrrl
Trionian

Postby quickfur » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:18 pm