shape analogy question

Discussion of shapes with curves and holes in various dimensions.

shape analogy question

Postby batmanmg » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:40 am

I'm looking for a corresponding shape that follows a certain pattern of stepping up dimensions, but I'm stuck on the parts in 4d becuase I don't understand the pattern. The most important part is the first blank.

2 dots on a line are a slice of a circle in 2d

2 concentric circles on a plane are a slice of a torus in 3d

2 concentric spherical shells in 3d are a slice of _____________ in 4d?

3 dots on a line are a slice of a figure 8 in 2d

3 concentric circles on a plane would be a slice of a figure 8 torus looking like 2 concentric touching torus (tori?)

3 concentric sphere shells would be a slice of ___________ in 4d?

N dots :: N looped figure
N circles :: N rippled Torus
N sphere shells :: N _______________

If i could draw this might make more sense, but then again, I'm a lousy artist. :sweatdrop:
too many people have self replicating sigs. Don't copy this.
batmanmg
Trionian

Re: shape analogy question

Postby Secret » Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:18 pm

batmanmg wrote:I'm looking for a corresponding shape that follows a certain pattern of stepping up dimensions, but I'm stuck on the parts in 4d becuase I don't understand the pattern. The most important part is the first blank.

2 dots on a line are a slice of a circle in 2d
2 concentric circles on a plane are a slice of a torus in 3d
2 concentric spherical shells in 3d are a slice of toraspherinder dual (place one end of a open spherindrical tubing into the other opening, then glue the loose ends inside) in 4d?

batmanmg wrote:3 dots on a line are a slice of a figure 8 in 2d
3 concentric circles on a plane would be a slice of a figure 8 torus looking like 2 concentric touching torus (tori?)
3 concentric sphere shells would be a slice of ___________ in 4d?